Film is Still ALIVE…series 001

nikonfm-6didn’t realize that there are a lot of people still shooting film.Back in the late ’80s I owned a Minolta X700 film camera….Shooting film is a whole new ballgame…Dont get me wrong…I love my Nikon D7100 and its lenses and the things I can do in lightroom and photoshop….but something I missed was shooting film….and after all the reading I’ve been doing lately, yesterday I went and picked up a Nikon FM film camera. And it came with a 50mm 1.8 prime lens,manuel focus.nikonfm-4This camera is clean…looks almost new,I believe it was produced around 1977….it does have a light meter in it ,if the red dot is even with the zero, its correct exposure, it will show if its over or under exposed by more than a stop.There are 2 button-cell type 1.5v silver-oxide batteries which run the light meter and the light meter only, so camera still works if batteries don’t.nikonfm-2You can see that the shutter speed goes from 1sec.-1000sec.,and it also has a bulb setting.The asa(now the ISO) goes from 12(yes 12) to 3200.It has a depth of field preview button, has a hot shoe for flash, and it also has a button for double exposures, and a self timer.nikonfm-5Of course i’ll be shooting black and white (Because thats what I love) and I will be using Ilford HP5 plus 400.nikonfmA little bit about Ilford HP5 plus 400………its a high speed, medium contrast film making it especially good for action and press photography and also an excellent choice for general purpose photography.ISO 400,yields negatives of outstanding sharpness and fine grain under all lighting conditions.it has also been formulated to respond well to push processing and film speeds up to EI 3200/36 are achievable maintaining good shadow detail and well separated mid -tones with sharp grain.nikonfm-7So I am very excited to start shooting film again.I am also thinking about developing my own film, and very soon I will be getting a Epson scanner so I can Scan my negatives and make digital online.So I will be doing a series on this called Film is Still ALIVE…this is series 001….so I hope you follow along, through all my experiences ,from shooting, developing ,scanning and wherever this takes me!!! Thanks for looking, who knows, you might want to shoot some film yourself.

One thought on “Film is Still ALIVE…series 001

Leave a Reply

